31 January 2023 • Announcement

Board Member vacancy

16 November 2022 • Announcement


23 September 2022 • Announcement

Marcia Petley, MNZM

12 September 2022 • Announcement

2022-2023 Track & Field Summer Handbook

8 September 2022 • Announcement

2022-2023 Children’s Summer Handbook

5 September 2022 • Announcement

Athletics NZ Awards

5 September 2022 • Announcement

2022 NZ Road Champs – Results of the WBOP Team

2 September 2022 • Announcement

Athletics WBOP Officials Training Courses 2022

1 September 2022 • Announcement

Track Officials Training Day – 18th September

4 May 2022 • Announcement

Board announcement

28 February 2022 • Announcement

IPs U16/U18 2022 – week 6

21 February 2022 • Announcement

IPs U16/U18 2022 – week 5

11 February 2022 • Announcement

IPs U16/U18 2022 – week 4

1 February 2022 • Announcement

IPs U16/U18 2022 – week 3

25 January 2022 • Announcement

IPs U16/U18 2022 – week 2

18 January 2022 • Announcement

IPs U16/U18 2022 started last weekend

11 January 2022 • Announcement

WBOP Children’s Champs

9 November 2021 • Announcement

Officials training days cancelled

23 September 2021 • Uncategorized

Board Member Vacancy

27 August 2021 • Announcement

Officials Training Days

5 August 2021 • Announcement

Officials Training Days – Whakatane

20 May 2021 • Announcement

Retirement of Ray Young

14 May 2021 • Announcement

Secondary Schools Cross Country Information

13 April 2021 • Announcement

Participant voice survey

6 April 2021 • Announcement

WBOP team for North Island Secondary Schools

25 March 2021 • Announcement

North Island Secondary Schools entry

9 November 2020 • Uncategorized

Athletics NZ AGM Awards

2 November 2020 • Announcement

Waikato- Bay of Plenty Team for NZ Road Race

18 August 2020 • General

Officials Course

6 March 2020 • Announcement

2020 Road and Cross Country Handbook

17 February 2020 • Announcement

Porritt Classic

21 February 2022 • Announcement

IPs U16/U18 2022 - week 5

12 & 13/02/2022 Athletics WBOP Track & Field Championships

This was the big event for the region and was exactly that for the IPs team.  Plenty of medals were on offer, but more importantly, 30 personal best results between the 30 athletes that competed.

Having the IPs event running at the same time as the AWBOP Camps meant for a much bigger field than normal and plenty of competition.

Firstly, we need to note that Jaxon Woolley broke his national record for his T38 category of Para 100m (12.48s) for the second weekend in a row. This wasn’t just an age group record, it was the U17, U18, U19, U20 and senior records. Plus, he was featuring questionable blue hair doo…… which seemed to work, as yes, we could see him from anywhere around the track… Wow Jaxon is fast!

We were not really prepared for the weather that hit during the weekend. These were some of the biggest wind gusts seen for a long time at the track. Some events had to be restarted due to athletes and officials (starters) being blown from their starting positions. The 200m and 300m starting lines were the worst affected. I heard comments of – it was like starting into a wall of wind. This just all adds to effort that the team put in together.  Having the Covid isolations and seating arrangements, separating teams, clubs and friends didn’t help with us getting a team photo, but it was the best decision for the event to go ahead.

Amelie Wood had a great weekend, starting with a PB for Triple Jump on Saturday and then heading to Auckland for the Sunday competition where she had PBs in the 80mH (13.12s), Discus (31.01m) and the Triple Jump again (10.42m). The other superstar was Jack Marra that completed three PBs for the weekend, 200m (23.58s), 400m (53.88s) and the Long Jump (6.1m).

The double PB athletes included Holly Fausett 80m (13.09s) and Long Jump 4.5m; Tane Knowles 100mH (17.76m) and 300mH (39.09); Teeka Rhind 100m (12.39s) and 200m (25.44s); Elliot Pugh 800m (2:06.75) and 1500m (4:10.33); Fletcher van Heijnen 400m (54.14s) and 800m (2:06.76).

Other PBs included Kamaia Minhinnick Long Jump (4.71m); Maia Poutawera 200m (27.08s); Hamish Murray (800m (2:05.68); Harrison Roberts-Brake 200m (25.18s); Saskia Rhind 80mH (13.26s); Kithmini Melville 400m (65.72s); Wiremu Knowles 300mH (42.57s); HeatherAnn Knowles 300mH (50.55s); Madison Rattray 200m (27.41s); Eva Sexton Javelin (29.72m); Nathan Brown 110mH (15.48s); Zoe Keenan 100mH (17.49s).

We are immensely proud of the team and their results.  This is going to lead to some super exciting times ahead.