MINUTES for the 79th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of ATHLETICS WAIKATO-BAY of PLENTY held in Cambridge on Sunday, 25th August 2024 at 12:00pm

PRESENT:

Andrew Langman (Chair), Sally Kerr, Murray Green, Kerry Hill, Dianne Rodger, Brett Addison, Steve Rees-Jones, Criss Strange, Debbie Strange, Malcolm Taylor, Nellie Engels, Murray Clarkson, Fay Riley, Marion Clarke, Joan Rawnsley, Berny Koppens, Malcolm Smith, Graeme Raill, Annie Jones, Barrie Jennings, Richard Hallam, Sarah Watson, Iain Rattray, Lucie Kibblewhite, Bruce Cortesi

APOLOGIES:

Ruth Tuiraviravi, John Tylden, Pam and Dennis Kenny, Kevin Bradley, Teresa Mumby, Donna Howitt, Shona Dewson, Glenn Sexton, Aynslee Rodger, Ben Bidois, Robyn McRae-Aoake, Jonny McKee, Sarah Van Marrewijk, Michael O'Hagan, Karen Lucas, Jayson Benge, David Rawnsley

MINUTES of the 78^h AGM, 27th August 2023 ~ Andrew Langman MOVED and Brett Addison SECONDED that the minutes of the 2023 Annual General Meeting be confirmed as a true and correct record. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Matters arising from the 2023 AGM minutes - there were no matters arising.

REPORTS

The following reports were presented in the Annual Report and tabled as read

Board Chair

 Sally Kerr spoke to the meeting, highlighting some areas of her report. The Centre is to host the 2026 Colgate Games in Tauranga and is awaiting an MOU from Athletics NZ for this event. Thank you's were expressed on behalf of the Board to all clubs, officials, volunteers and athletes over the 2023-2024 season.

Cross Country and Road

Track & Field

 Criss spoke to his Porritt Classic report. 2024 event made a profit thanks to Criss's work in securing sponsorship. 2025 is with planning group to be held on 15th February.

Children

Officials

Coaches

- Berny commented that with now being part of the Waikato Youth Squad that there is a gap for the U12/14's for education for parents as well as athletes and coaches. Events like 'Throw Like a Girl' where successful and could be repeated as this provided a great environment for all involved.
- o Debbie Strange commented on lack of males being involved in areas of the sport.

CoachForce

Masters

- At the Masters AGM held Sunday 18th August, Murray Clarkson stepped down from being President – Bruce Solomon has filled this position with Fay Riley continuing as Secretary.
- Stephen Burden was only WBOP athletes competing at the World Masters Athletic
 Championships, Gothenburg 13-15 August results M65 LJ 4.87m (6), TJ 10.12m (5)

Criss Strange suggested that we add a Para Report to our Annual Report in future covering all areas of the sport. Operations to second someone to cover this area.

Finance

- The accounts presented are the final set of financials and due to be signed off by the auditor.
- A resolution was passed by those present that they authorised the Board to adopt the financial statements subject to no material changes.

Andrew Langman MOVED and Bruce Cortesi SECONDED that the Annual Reports, including the Financial Performance Report be adopted and approved. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

FINANCIAL REVIEWER

Matley Audit Ltd

Andrew Langman MOVED Murray Green that Matley Audit Ltd be approved as Auditor for the next financial year. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

AWARDS

- Official of the Year was awarded to Malcolm Taylor
- Waikato-Bay of Plenty Service Award presented to Kerry Hill, Ruth Tuiraviravi, Donna Howitt and Karen Lucas

• Life Member – Malcolm Taylor

Sally Kerr provided a summary of service support confirmation of Life Membership for Malcolm Taylor.

The meeting confirmed the Life Membership nomination unanimously.

Athletics WBOP Track & Field Trophy Recipients 2023-2024

| Gallichan Cup | Athlete gaining the most points in Senior Men and Women and U20M/U20W grades | Charles Roil |
|-------------------------------|--|------------------------------|
| AWBOP Colts Shield | Most points in U18M grade | Cruz Witheford |
| Sue Drummond Shield | Most points in U18W grade | Hannah Hickson Jamie Fell |
| Keith Falla Memorial Trophy | Winner Senior Men's 800m Waikato-BoP Champs | Joseph Morgan |
| John L Davies Memorial Trophy | Winner Senior Men's 1500m Waikato-BoP Champs | Ben Bidois |
| Official of the Year | | Malcolm Taylor |

ELECTION of OFFICERS

The following were declared elected

PRESIDENT - Andrew Langman

OPERATIONS COMMITTEE – the following were appointed:

- Criss Strange (Track and Field)
- No nominations (Coaching)
- Malcolm Taylor (Road and Cross Country)
- Teresa Mumby (Children)
- Sarah Watson (Children)
- Bruce Solomon (Masters)
- Ruth Tuiraviravi (Officials)

Operations Committee to co-op someone to fill Coaching position.

ARBITRATION PANEL

The following were appointed as members of the arbitration panel:

- Brett Addison (convenor)
- John Tylden
- Murray Green
- Wendy Harris
- Sandra Murray
- Joan Rawnsley

OFFICIALS COORDINATORS -

Ruth Tuiraviravi

SELECTORS – the following were appointed:

- Brett Addison and Murray Green (Track and Field) Brett and Murray to seek someone from BOP to be a selector
- Steve Rees-Jones, Matthew Parsonage (Road and XC)
 - Steve and Matt to co-op another selector if they feel this is required

Andrew Langman MOVED Sarah Watson SECONDED that the above positions be approved. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

REMITS

o No remits submitted

REGISTRATION FEES

o AWBOP Registration fees for 2025-2026 confirmed that they remain the same as current levies.

Acknowledgements

Sally acknowledged Board member Ben Kennedy that was stepping down as of this AGM date and thanked him for his input during his time on the Board.

Ben held an appointed position on the Board, the Board is looking at candidates to fill this role.

GENERAL BUSINESS

Honorary Treasurer – Murray Green

Sally outlined why this position requires confirmation. Murray has been a signatory since he became Chairman in 2015 until the Board structure was introduced in 2020 where he became President for a two year term – 2020-2021. Murray and Dianne have a system in place for actioning online payments. With changing signatories in the banking environment quite a challenging task, it is easier to keep Murray, Dianne and Sally as current signatories.

Sally Kerr MOVED Brett Addison SECONDED that Murray be approved as Honorary Treasurer. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- Summer Programme Criss Strange outlined where Operations Committee were with dates of summer programme to avoid clashes of programme with Auckland. Timetabling of events to be confirmed with Ruth to meet schedule of officials for events.
- Managers for NZ Track & Field Championships in Dunedin Iain Rattray commented on cost for Managers to attend and that as a Centre we needed to look at model for assist with costs. Operations Committee to look at this and come up with suggested subsidy.
- o Millenium Track Trust Murray Clarkson confirmed that fees will remain the same as last season.
- Murray Green acknowledged the extra work that Dianne has put in over the season, and with seconding her daughter Aynslee to assist at events and helping with medal presentations at our Championship events.

Close of meeting from President Andrew Langman Andrew acknowledged the contribution of everyone involved in our sport, and thanked everyone for attending the AGM.

Andrew Langman declared the 79th AGM closed at 1.17pm