MINUTES for the 78th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of ATHLETICS WAIKATO-BAY of PLENTY held in Cambridge on Sunday, 27th August 2023 at 12:00pm

PRESENT:

Andrew Langman (Chair), Sally Kerr, Murray Green, Kerry Hill, Dianne Rodger, Ben Kennedy, Brett Addison, Steve Rees-Jones, Criss Strange, Debbie Strange, Malcolm Taylor, Nellie Engels, Heather O'Hagan, Murray Clarkson, Fay Riley, Marion Clarke, Jonny McKee, Joan Rawnsley, Berny Koppens, Donna Howitt, Shona Dewson, Glenn Sexton

APOLOGIES:

Sandra Murray, Peter Blackwood, Ruth Tuiraviravi, Ashley Taylor, John Tylden, Andrea Neal, Alan McDonald, Fay Smith, Gavin Smith, Teresa Mumby, Robyn McRae-Aoake, Kevin Bradley, Inneke Cumming, Tony Rogers, Rob Kerr, Craig Wilson, Robin Knowles, Iain Rattray

MINUTES of the 77th AGM, 14th August 2022 ~ Andrew Langman MOVED and Brett Addison SECONDED that the minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting be confirmed as a true and correct record. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Matters arising from the 2022 AGM minutes - there were no matters arising.

RECONGNITION OF MHYRE OMAN - a minutes silence was taken in respect and remembrance for all that Mhyre has contributed selflessly over many years to the Centre.

REPORTS

The following reports were presented in the Annual Report and tabled as read

Board Chair

 Sally Kerr spoke to the meeting, with a brief overview of her report. She noted the stronger season, not only in membership but financially. Sally expressed thank you's on behalf of the Board to all areas of the sport to make this achievable.

Murray Green acknowledged Eva Guy, who had passed away at the end of July. Eva had been a stalwart of Waharoa Athletic Club and Matamata Harrier Club as well as Athletics Waikato Bay of Plenty. With Ted her late husband she officiated and competed in events throughout the Waikato Bay of Plenty and New Zealand.

Cross Country and Road

Track & Field

- Comment was made about the small numbers in the U16 grade for NZ Track & Field Championships 2023.
- Children
- Officials

Coaches

 Criss commented that with the development of the Waikato Youth Squad lead by Debbie Strange, there are 12 active coaches involved.

CoachForce

 Malcolm Taylor asked for comment about Tauranga Club prizegiving in report be edited to reflect correct information.

Masters

Finance

 Glenn Sexton commented on registration numbers that even though they had increased the numbers especially for Seniors in the Road and Cross Country were low due to many not registering with clubs due to the other events available for them.

Andrew Langman MOVED and Glenn Sexton (Hawks) SECONDED that the Annual Reports, including the Financial Performance Report be adopted and approved.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

AWARDS

- Official of the Year was awarded to Mhyre Oman
- Waikato-Bay of Plenty Service Award presented to Graham Dudfield, Fay Smith, Noel Bennett, and Kevin Bradley

Life Member – Heather O'Hagan

Andrew Langman provided a summary of service supporting confirmation of Life Membership for Heather O'Hagan.

Life Membership – Murray Green

Sally Kerr provided a summary of service support confirmation of Life Membership for Murray Green.

The meeting confirmed the Life Membership nomination unanimously.

Athletics WBOP Track & Field Trophy Recipients 2022-2023

Gallichan Cup	Athlete gaining the most points in Senior Men and Women and U20M/U20W grades	Sarah Hewlett
AWBOP Colts Shield	Most points in U18M grade	Fletcher van Heuven
Sue Drummond Shield	Most points in U18W grade	Amelie Wood
Keith Falla Memorial Trophy	Winner Senior Men's 800m Waikato-BoP Champs	Ben Hennessy
John L Davies Memorial	•	Ben Bidois
Trophy	Winner Senior Men's 1500m Waikato-BoP Champs	

Feedback from the floor was that there is a lack of female trophies – Operations Committee to look at this plus if Road and Cross Country trophies could be resurrected.

Acknowledgements

Sally acknowledged the Board members that were stepping down and thanked them for their time and service over the past three years – Thomas Refoy-Butler, Tony Rogers, and Ashleigh Sando.

ELECTION of OFFICERS

The following were declared elected

APPOINTED BOARD MEMBERS X 1

• Bruce Cortesi

ELECTED BOARD MEMBER X 2

- Iain Rattray
- Inneke Cumming

OPERATIONS COMMITTEE – the following were appointed:

- Kevin Bradley (Track and Field)
- Criss Strange (Coaching)
- No nominations (Road and Cross Country)
- Teresa Mumby (Children)
- Sarah Watson (Children)
- Murray Clarkson (Masters)
- Ruth Tuiraviravi (Officials)

ARBITRATION PANEL

The following were appointed as members of the arbitration panel:

- Brett Addison (convenor)
- Criss Strange
- John Tylden
- Wendy Harris
- Andrew Langman
- Murray Green
- Joan Rawnsley

OFFICIALS COORDINATORS -

There were no nominations for this position

SELECTORS – the following were appointed:

- Brett Addison, John Tylden and Murray Green (Track and Field)
- Glenn Sexton, Steve Rees-Jones, Matthew Parsonage (Road and XC)
 - one more selector required, Glenn to ask Matt Parsonage from Lake City if he would take on this position confirmed.

Andrew Langman MOVED Murray Green SECONDED that the above positions be approved. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

REMITS

No remits submitted

REGISTRATION FEES

o AWBOP Registration fees for 2024-2025 remain the same as this current season

GENERAL BUSINESS

- o Board Chair to provide feedback and action list from Strategic Day in June
- Plan to recruit Development and Events Coordinator

Sally provided and overview of the feedback and planned actions from the Strategic Day that was held in June. (separate document attached)

- Murray Green acknowledged the work that Heather O'Hagan has put into the Centre and Athletics New Zealand, plus thanked Malcolm Taylor, and Ray Wakeford for there tireless support with Cross Country and Road events.
- Managers for WBOP Track & Field Teams remuneration Murray Green suggested the amount of remuneration should increase to \$200 from \$100 for managers with the event now being held over 4 days. Operations committee to look at this at the next planned meeting.
- Sports Awards Glenn commented on if the Centre could lobby Sport Waikato on format of sports awards as many felt it had lost its relevance and doesn't acknowledge out sports people. Discussion took place on whether the Centre should hold its own awards function. We would need feedback from the clubs and athletes on what they would like to make next decision.
- Bernie Koppens gave an overview of the U16/U18 IP direction and information they will be sharing to athletes and coaches.
- Murray Clarkson gave brief update on Tauranga Track and when the Long-Term Plan is voted on by Tauranga City Council.
- Donna Howitt advised that if all is in order with the current track at the Tauranga Domain, they will be looking at hosting the 2026 Colgate Games 9,10,11 January 2026. A working committee would be formed December/January to give them a two year lead into this event.
- Murray Green acknowledged that the funds that were given to the Centre from Thames Harrier Club and were used for the purchase of a digital timing system a few years back, is now being put to good use thanks to Braden Neal who has tested the system and provided timing at events since May. The Centre now has an efficient timing system but will require others to learn how to use it.

Close of meeting from President Andrew Langman

Andrew acknowledged that Matamata Athletic Club will be celebrating 100 years on the 7th October. He also acknowledged the contribution of everyone involved in our sport, and thanked everyone for attending the AGM.

Andrew Langman declared the 78th AGM closed at 1.40pm