ATHLETICS WAIKATO-BAY of PLENTY Inc – AGM Matamata on Sunday 26th August 2018 at 12:00 pm

MINUTES

PRESENT: Alan McDonald (Chair), Murray Green, Ashley Taylor, Mhyre Oman, Malcolm Taylor, Jeannette Vedder-Price, George Caddie, Nellie Engels, Kelly Diprose, Dennis Kenny, Pam Kenny, Murray Clarkson, Andrew Langman, Berny Koppens, Dave O'Keefe, Sandra Murray, Margaret Holcroft, Roseanne Murray, Kevin Bradley, Helene Morton, Donna Howitt, Kerry Hill, Steve Rees-Jones

APOLOGIES: Heather O'Hagan, Peter Blackwood, Paula Cole, Tony Rodgers, Glenn Sexton, Criss Strange, Hamish Meacham, Douglas Taylor, John Tylden, Brett Addison, Dianne Rodger

MINUTES of the 72nd AGM (20th August 2017) were approved

MATTERS ARISING:

• It was noted that the minutes should be amended to read that an organising committee for the 2019 Colgate Games is to be formed, removing the reference to it being led by Margaret Holcroft.

REPORTS

The reports as detailed in the annual report were presented to the meeting and approved:

The following additions to the information in the reports were noted:

- Chairman's report:
 - A moments silence was held in remembrance of those listed in the obituaries in the Chairman's report.
- Children's Report
 - Extra acknowledgment was given of Margaret Holcroft's contribution over many years to Children's athletics.
- Finance Report
 - It was noted that the demise of the New Zealand Children's Athletic Association may lead to a decrease in the number of registered athletes, which could impact on AWBOP's finances.
 - It was confirmed that a financial reserves policy is to be established, with funds put aside for assets and operating expenses. This will assist in allowing AWBOP to obtain grant funding.

AWARDS

- A Waikato-Bay of Plenty service award was presented to Sandra Murray from the Fairfield Club. She was also presented with an Athletics New Zealand service award.
- A Waikato-Bay of Plenty service award was presented to Murray Green of the Te Awamutu Club.
- Life membership of Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty was awarded to Jeannette Vedder-Price.

• The Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty Official of the year award was awarded to Rene Otto.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

The following were elected:

President: Dianne Rodger

Chairman: Murray Green

Financial Reviewer: Murray Whittaker

Arbitration Panel: John Tylden (Chairman), Stewart Foster, Loloma Foster, Joan Rawnsley, Marcia Petley, Murray Clarkson, Andrew Langman, Heather O'Hagan

Officials Co-Ordinators: Heather O'Hagan (Hamilton), Ray Young (Tauranga)

Selectors: John Tylden/Steve Rees-Jones (Track and Field) Malcolm Taylor/Steve Rees-Jones (Road and Cross Country)

REMITS

Nil submitted

REGISTRATION FEES 2019-2020

• A Centre registration fee of \$7 for each athlete aged 7 years and over was confirmed for the 2019-20 season, commencing in April 2019.

GENERAL BUSINESS

- Roseanne Murray from Sport Waikato spoke to the meeting about organisational restructuring and the impact of moving to a board instead of a management committee. The benefits of the board structure were outlined. A board would perform high level strategic decisions centred on policy and legislative requirements with committees operating below the board. The board structure was discussed, with 6 to 8 members suggested, with some independent members from outside of the sport. There was some concern expressed that all areas of the sport would need representation on the board, however it was explained that this may not be necessary as the board takes on overall view of the sport considering all areas.
- Murray Green discussed the potential employment of a development officer. Murray explained that there is some uncertainty whether the role would be part or full time. A potential role was discussed with a full-time staff member could be employed as a chief executive combined with development officer duties. The role structure may depend on the preferred candidate. The structure of Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty staff roles will be examined further.

- A motion was passed agreeing that Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty will proceed with the process to move to a board structure.
- The meeting was updated by Dennis Kenny that Lake City have conferred Life Membership on Tom Lamason.

The meeting was closed by the President of Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty, Alan McDonald.