# ATHLETICS WAIKATO-BAY of PLENTY Inc – AGM Matamata on Sunday 21st August 2016 at 12:30 pm

### **MINUTES**

PRESENT: Murray Green (Chairman), Ashley Taylor, Douglas Taylor, Graeme McCabe, Mhyre Oman, Malcolm Taylor, Glenn Sexton, Heather O'Hagan, Alan McDonald, Jeannette Vedder-Price, Margaret Holcroft, Bruce Habgood, George Caddie, Peter Rawnsley, Joan Rawnsley, Nellie Engels, Kelly Diprose, Dennis Kenny, Pam Kenny, Murray Clarkson, Maree Earl, Megan Wallace, Corinna Kendrick, Malesa McNearney, Steve Rees-Jones

**APOLOGIES:** Criss Strange, Sandra Murray, Paula Cole, Jo Davidson, Rene Otto, Jude Trumm, Bruce Fleming, John Tylden, Donna Howitt, Katikati Club

MINUTES of the 70<sup>th</sup> AGM (30<sup>th</sup> August 2015) were approved

**MATTERS ARISING: Nil** 

#### **REPORTS**

The reports as detailed in the annual report were presented to the meeting and approved:

The following additions to the information in the reports were noted:

- Chairman's report:
  - Particular acknowledgement was made of the Halberg Award to Ashley Taylor, Life membership of Athletics New Zealand for Mhyre Oman and Kelly Diprose's award of the New Zealand Order of Merit.
- Children's report:
  - The second year without a Chairman was noted, as was the poor attendance at Committee Meetings.
- Officials Report:
  - o Concerns were noted of lack of officials, it was reiterated that training courses are available.
- Masters Report
  - There was some discussion over further Masters incorporation into the main body of the sport. There was no confirmation as to whether masters can incorporate their meetings into Senior ones over the summer.
- Finance Report
  - o It was noted that the Centre is in good financial health and that the \$5 registration fee had been successful.
  - o Kelly Diprose had agreed to take over the position of Finance Chairman from Ashley Taylor.

#### **AWARDS**

- It was announced that starting in 2017, Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty would present a new award named after Ashley Taylor in recognition of his contribution to the Centre. The award would be for outstanding achievement in any area of the sport.
- Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty Official of the year award was presented to Nellie Engels.

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

**President:** Criss Strange

Chairman: Murray Green

Financial Reviewer: To be confirmed

Arbitration Panel: Heather O'Hagan (Chairman), Stewart Foster, Douglas Taylor, Mhyre Oman, Margaret

Holcroft, John Tylden, Bruce Fleming, Graeme McCabe, and Joan Rawnsley

Officials Co-Ordinators: Heather O'Hagan (Hamilton), Ray Young (Tauranga)

#### **REMITS**

The following remits were proposed:

#### Club Uniforms – Proposed by the Children's Committee

- Remit: All new clubs are to have their uniform ratified by the AWBoP Management Committee prior to their affiliation. Any changes to existing club uniforms (part or whole uniform) must also be ratified by the Management Committee. A register of Club Uniforms is to be kept by the Administrator.
- After discussions, the remit was amended to include that new Club names would also need to be approved.
- Following a vote, the remit was successful.

<u>Disbanding of AWBOP Road and Cross Country and Track and Field Committees – proposed by the</u> administrator on behalf of the committees

- Remit: That the Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty Road and Cross Country Committee and Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty Track and Field Committee are disbanded from the 21<sup>st</sup> August 2016 and that their affairs are conducted by the Management and/or Emergency committees.
- After discussions of concerns as to how Management Committee and selectors would be appointed some conditions were attached to the remit:

- A call for nominations from clubs (including expectations of the positions) for the vacant Management Committee posts is to be made.
- o Amendments to be made to the constitution that Road and Cross Country and track and Field selectors are to be appointed at the AGM.
- o In the interim current post holders will continue in their Management Committee and selector roles.
- Following a vote, the remit was successful.

## Removal of the \$3 open event fee for winter events – Proposed by Glenn Sexton (Hamilton Hawks)

- Remit: Waibop Centre is to cease to impose the \$3 levy on the winter season events.
- After discussions the remit was voted on, the remit was not successful.

## <u>Centre Travel allowances/Registration fees – proposed by Ashley Taylor</u>

- That as from August 2016 the Centre each year to provide travel contributions only to:
  - Children's teams for 14/18 & NZ 12/13 Inter Prov teams
  - Managers for NZ Champs Track & Field, CC & Road
  - Such contributions to be a charge on General Funds and determined by the Management Committee based on the general principles that have applied over many years, and that Clubs be invited to provide grants for Club athletes and coaches for NZ Champs and Overseas representation
- That the current \$5 registration fee for all athletes 7 years and over continue for registration year commencing 1<sup>st</sup> April 2017.
- Following a vote, the remit was successful.

#### **REGISTRATION FEES 2016-2017**

• As agreed in the remits, a Centre registration fee of \$5 for each athlete aged 7 years and over was confirmed for the 2017-18 season.

### **GENERAL BUSINESS**

• An update on the Coachforce Bay of Plenty program was given to the meeting by Graeme McCabe. It was confirmed that Athletics had been successfully in gaining funding for a 0.5 FTE position at no cost to AWBOP. The position is to be filled by Kerry Hill. The meeting acknowledged Graeme's effort in securing the funding.

The meeting was closed by the Chairman of Athletics Waikato-Bay of Plenty, Murray Green.